The Texting, Video Game Playing Generation

Ralph and I were talking this weekend about how the pet industry has changed with this generation. Pet shops used to be filled with children’s excited faces pressed against the aquarium glass and pet cages, in anticipation of getting a new pet. A pet is great for kids because it teaches responsibility  because the animal is depending on them.  When I was little, my dad used to say, “Honey, an animal can’t talk, so you have to know what it needs and make sure you provide it.”  Having an animal to care for provides an appreciation for life too. While I am not by any means bashing texting (yes, I do it too, though not while driving) I believe that we would be doing our children and grandchildren a favor by instilling in them, the love and responsibility of pets, to replace some of the time they spend with technology.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment